Paramore Announce New Album, Release Accompanying Song, and Video

Paramore returns with their first new album in four years, After Laughter, which they have announced will be released on May 12th. Produced by Justin Meldal-Johnsen, and Paramore’s Taylor York, After Laughter, will be the follow-up to 2013’s self-titled LP and marks the return of drummer Zac Farro to the band for the first time since 2010. In addition, the band released a video for their new single, ‘Hard Times’, which you can watch here.


Watch the Trailer Jack White’s American Epic Documentary Series Which Will Air on PBS, BBC

Jack White, T-Bone Burnett, and Robert Redford teamed up back in 2015 to executive produce American Epic, a documentary series, as well as a feature film and recording project chronicling the beginnings of recorded music in America. PBS and BBC will now air the three-part documentary series every Tuesday starting on May 16th, while the accompanying film, The American Epic Sessions, will air on the same networks on June 6th. A substantial soundtrack will also be released on May 12th via Jack White’s Third Man Records.

The series, which features contributions from notable artists like Elton John, Nas, Taj Mahal, and Alabama Shakes, will take a look at the early days of recorded music. As the trailer explains, with record companies fearing the rise of the radio, they took to the road with the first electrical recording device, hoping to find new sounds and a new market.

Jack White released this statement about the project:

“In American Epic we can examine how important the fact is that when phonograph records were invented, for the first time ever, women, minorities, poor rural men and even children were given the opportunity to say whatever they wanted in song, for the whole world to hear, shockingly without much censorship. What they were allowed to say on phonograph recordings, they were not allowed to speak in public or in person. That is an astounding thought.”

A 100-song soundtrack will also be released, as well as an accompanying book.



Car Seat Headrest Perform New Version of ‘Unforgiving Girl’ On Conan

Will Toledo and his band Car Seat Headrest were on Conan last night promoting last year’s phenomenal album Teens of Denial, with a new version of ‘Unforgiving Girl’ off said album. The song takes on a more polished 80’s sound in this interpretation, and still rocks. The new version is called ‘Unforgiving Girl (She’s Not a Single Version)’ and is already available on streaming services.

maxresdefault (3)

Prince’s Estate File Lawsuit Over New Deliverance EP

Earlier this week, it had been revealed that a new six-song EP titled Deliverance, would be released independently on April 21st to mark the one year anniversary of Prince’s death. The EP would feature previously undiscovered recordings that Prince made between 2006 and 2008. The songs were co-written and co-produced by Prince and Ian Boxhill, who did so following his death last year.

However, a lawsuit has now been filed by the Prince estate, accusing Boxhill of “trying to exploit one or more songs for his personal gain at the expense of the Prince estate”. They have also asked to have all recordings of the artist returned to his estate.

A physical copy of Deliverance will be released on June 6th.